Broken Nails Don’t Mend But Broken Hearts Always Do

08Aug10

I don’t often identify with Mariah Carey. I’m fine with stairs, I like to wear clothes I can breathe in, and butterflies largely leave me cold.

However, when I wrote that previous post about how I had had a stressful time lately, I didn’t know that things were going to get worse. Urgh

And before I knew it, I found myself listening to this.

As the poetess Mariah so eloquently puts it

“And no super glue can fix this shit
When I break I break I break
Not even a welder and a builder could rebuild this shit
When I break I break I break
Not even a nail technician with a whole lot of gel and acrylic
Can fix this”

So I couldn’t be arsed to update my blog. I have had half written post on the perfect manicure on my desktop since May. I feel its judgement whenever I log on. (Recently this has got even worse as I signed a contract to write 70,000 for a publisher by September, so now two things are jeering from my desktop).

Time has passed. Broken nails don’t mend, but broken hearts always do. I now have a set of fingernails that is made entirely of keratin that that person has never even seen. This pleases me.

And on Friday Chanel launches a new polish. I am very excited. You can see an image of it here on fabulous Sophy Robson’s blog. I’m not sure if I like the colour or if it will suit my hands. But of course I must know. So I am on on the waiting list in Debenhams in Brighton (one of the only two places in Brighton which sells Chanel nail polish) to receive one of the twelve bottles that will be arriving.

I will report back.

One Response to “Broken Nails Don’t Mend But Broken Hearts Always Do”

  1. I saw this Paradoxical thing being plugged in a magazine (Guardian or Observer or something like that?) but as like chocolate sauce on an ice cream sundae! Looks delicious, can’t wait to hear how you get on.


Leave a Reply

