Black Shatter Nails

03Nov10

It has been brought to my attention by someone on Twitter that OPI have an extraordinary new product called Black Shatter launching soon. It seems be designed to make your nails look like a distressed old building in SoHo in late 70s/early 80s New York. I can’t imagine how it works and I can’t deny that it is innovative, but – after much consideration – I have decided that it’s not for me.

There were two cons and one pro. In the con column was the fact that the product seems to be in association with notoriously overclad feminist thinker Katy Perry, a woman who wears minx nails of her husband. Nah.

I am not sure that this will be a successful long term strategy

And the second con – a biggie – is that I don’t want my fingernails to look like this. I just don’t.

The pro still nags me from time to time though. And this pro is that the product really reminds me of Ice Magic, one of the greatest treats of my childhood.

As with Black Shatter, I am quite sure that it was made of pure chemical evil. There can be no other reason why it is not still dominating the market. My parents wouldn’t let us have it in the house. Consequently my grandparents ALWAYS had it in the house. I stiill miss it. Am I alone?

7 Responses to “Black Shatter Nails”

  1. 1 Karen

    Mint ice magic, the work of genius. I miss it too.

  2. I write in defence of Ice Magic. I would bet that Ice Magic has less chemicals in it than Black Shatter.

    In the unlikely event you are wondering why I have thought about this so hard, in school I set out to prove to my mum that Ice Magic should be allowed on a regular basis. I discovered it’s based on the same principles as when you put a bottle of olive oil in the fridge. This was far more relevant than anything else I learnt in chemistry class.

    Ingredients: Vegetable Oils, Sugar, Cocoa Powder (10%), Skim Milk Powder, Emulsifer (471), Flavours.

    E471 is also really just oil, but probably not suitable for vegetarians. I can’t say the same for Black Shatter though.

  3. PS. A miscellaneous tip (no pun intended) – you may or may not be aware that, at least in the US, OPI has released a range for Sephora. This means you can snap up colours pretty much IDENTICAL to their higher end line for a fraction of the price and from my scientific tests they seem pretty much the same quality too.

  4. 6 Catherine

    Whilst Black Shatter is definitely not for me either (I generally shun all nail art) if you are still intrigued by the Ice Magic effect you could always try the Barry M version, Instant Nail Effects, which appears to give the same look (and is undoubtedly a heck of a lot cheaper too!)

    http://www.barrym.com/products/product.asp?id=155

    http://www.barrym.com/make-up-tutorials/video-tutorial.asp?vid=107


  1. 1 Top Shop Nails « The Definite Cuticle

Leave a Reply

